Unexpected Valentine’s Treat

“Mommy may we go to IHOP for Valentine’s Day?” Out of all the restaurants in Rocket Center, IHOP it was, their day Mom pays. In celebratory fashion I expected them to order the red velvet pancakes or little heart shaped pancakes topped with strawberries and whipped cream but they stuck to the usual: my daughter pancakes with eggs scrambled hard, my oldest cheeseburger and fries, meat and cheese only, though he ate my daughter’s side of bacon but NOT on his burger! And my baby a bacon cheeseburger plain with onion rings that he made known he would not be sharing, happy was he that grandma didn’t come along because “the last time she ate too many of my onion rings.”vd3

After dinner I’d planned a surprise trip out to Bridge Street, specifically to It’s Sugar, I hadn’t bought the traditional Valentine’s Day sweets choosing rather to let them pick out their own candy which I knew wouldn’t go to waste. It was getting close to bedtime at this point but we’re already out so we’re ALL IN! Strapped with holiday cash from grandma, it’s on. Reighan has to go to her FAVORITE store, Justice, just in case there’s something she wants more than candy: It’s Sugar wins! Reggie and I want ice cream so we head to Maggie Moos. Ice cream, yogurts, fruit, candy, and nuts galore and all he wants is vanilla ice cream with white chocolate chips. I’m like you sure you don’t want sprinkles, or gummy bears, but very much like his laid back personality he doesn’t need all the thrills, he just wants what he wants so plain it is. I settle for coconut ice cream with caramel and pecans. On to It’s Sugar, the candy playground, where my little bosses, the thrill seekers, are in charge and get to choose what and how much they want.vd2

Headed back to the car and my daughter has to go the restroom. There’s restaurants around but we’re parked by Barnes and Noble so it would be an easy in and out and off to the house because sleep awaits. 30 minutes later and they don’t want to leave! Their eyes more lit in the bookstore than they’d been in our previous stops. Now it wasn’t their first time in a bookstore, books are a staple in our home, but it was their first time in this particular location and they loved it. They were caught up and I as well not realizing they’d wandered off, my baby found the Thomas the Train play table in Barnes and Noble Jr. My daughter’s into Japanese comics so she’s taken in with the manga section. My gamer finds the Legos and The Legend of Zelda series. Soon each had a book they wanted, eager to spend their own money to get it, definitely a first!VD1.png

What initially was a necessary inconvenience turned out to be the highlight of our date. It was their favorite moment! While getting dressed for school, the books they’d seen and the series they anticipated reading consumed their conversations. So if you’re looking for us Saturday, we’re going in for seconds of our unexpected treat………

One thought on “Unexpected Valentine’s Treat

Leave a Reply

